July 31, 2021

Mild Mannered Reviews - "Superman" Comic Book Reviews

Superman #37 Superman #37 KindleDownload iBookBuy Now

Superman #37

Scheduled to arrive in stores: December 20, 2017

Cover date: February 2018

"Super Sons of Tomorrow" - Part 2: "Dark of the Son"

Writer: Peter J. Tomasi & Patrick Gleason
Artist: Jorge Jimenez
Cover: Ivan Reis, Julio Ferreira & Marcelo Maiolo
Variant Cover: Jonboy Meyers

Reviewed by: Adam Dechanel
Click to enlarge



Tim Drake is back. He has returned from Hypertime but considering his recent battles with Batwoman, Bruce is suspicious and a brutal, visceral fight crashes through the Manor. Tim resorts to extreme measures to best his former mentor but defeating Bruce is not the reason he has returned.

Superman is repairing the recent damage to the Fortress as 'Batman' attacks but Superman is not fooled by the intruder. However this Tim Drake has many other tricks up his sleeve and reveals the Superman of his world taught him Kryptonian and how to activate the Fortress Battlesuit. A fight ensues but remarkably the victor is not who you'd think.

What could Tim Drake's mission to save the future be? What does it mean for Jon Kent? Could it be related to the Oz Effect?

To Be Continued in Super Sons #11...

5Story - 5: There is little story this issue but that is fine because this issue wasn't meant to be laden with unnecessary backstory. In fact if it didn't just jump right into the action I don't think it would be as powerful. As it stands this was reminiscent of the early Superman/Batman issues.

Conner was name dropped here... could Hypertime reveal more to the mystery?

It also allows for Part 2 to expand upon the action.

5Art - 5: This issue was all about the visuals. Every panel on every page looked amazing and that was purely down to the fact Jimenez was able to really go to town with the issue. The scenes in Wayne Manor were breathtaking. I'm always surprised by how much of a beating Bruce can take.

3Cover Art - 3: This cover really missed the mark for me, mainly because we've been inundated by Jon's struggles on the Super book covers for a while now. I'm just a bit bored of seeing it. The art is great, it's the depiction I'm irked by.

5Variant Cover Art - 5: The Tim Drake variant is superb. Batman looks deadly, and rightly so considering his mission! The color palette really adds to its dark theme. Brilliant.

Mild Mannered Reviews

2018

Note: Except for digital first releases, the month dates are from the issue covers, not the actual date when the comic went on sale.

January 2018 February 2018 March 2018 April 2018 May 2018 June 2018 July 2018 August 2018 September 2018 October 2018 November 2018 December 2018

Back to the Mild Mannered Reviews contents page.

Check out the Comic Index Lists for the complete list of Superman-related comics published in 2018.