August 1, 2021

Mild Mannered Reviews - Justice League Comic Books

Justice League #8 Justice League #8 KindleDownload iBookBuy Now

Justice League #8

Scheduled to arrive in stores: September 19, 2018

Cover date: November 2018

"Legion of Doom" - Part Two

Writer: James Tynion IV
Penciller: Mikel Janin
Inker: Jaime Mendoza
Cover: Doug Mahnke
Variant Cover: Jim Lee

Reviewed by: James Lantz
Click to enlarge


With the Justice League in possession of the Totality, Martian Manhunter has scanned Starman's mind. Lex Luthor traveled through time to find him, experiment on him and torture him to get answers on how he could possess the Totality's energy. Meanwhile Black Manta and Cheetah kill Captain Proteus perhaps around the same moment that Lex is conversing with the Batman Who Laughs. The mad Joker/Dark Knight amalgam tells Luthor what he needs to know in an insane, almost riddle-like manner. What he tells Lex could mean a new beginning for the multiverse, but it could also totally obliterate it.

The Source Wall was meant to keep dark forces from obtaining ultimate power. Now, it no longer exits. The Totality, the Still Force and the Ultraviolet Light are keys to everything that's going on. Yet, a woman named Perpetua seeks these elements and so much more to gain domination of the multiverse. Both the Justice League and the Legion of Doom will need everything at their disposal if they are to find this omnipotent woman and learn her true intentions. A fortnight will pass.

5Story - 5: James Tynion IV's "Legion of Doom" arc is the perfect interlude to the main events in this title. Admittedly, I may have been a bit harsh on the previous chapter. This is because I felt it interrupted "The Totality" too abruptly. I hereby retract any negative things I said about issue #5 even if I did like it. Tynion is clearly trying to fill in the blanks for readers while giving them the Legion's perspective on events during the villains' respective parts of Luthor's plan. All of this delivers a compelling story worthy of what Scott Snyder has been doing with the book, blending superhero action with horror/sci-fi/fantasy and great characterization. I'll wait patiently for chapter three of this serial to see if it fits more pieces together. In the meantime, I'm eager to read the next issue.

5Art - 5: The art is well drawn and perfectly done. It feels like Mikel Janin is experimenting with different styles on every page. Normally, that sort of thing disturbs me, but it doesn't this time around as this occurs from one scene to the next. Pages with Cheetah and Black Manta look different from the conversation with the Batman Who Laughs. Janin is channeling his inner Clive Barker with those, and that's super cool to a horror nerd like me.

5Cover Art - 5: Laugh and the multiverse laughs with you thanks to Mikel Janin's wonderful cover art.

5Variant Cover Art - 5: Wait'll you get a load of this awesome Jim Lee cover, Joker fans. It's creepy, but beautifully drawn in Lee's classic style.

Mild Mannered Reviews

2018

Note: Except for digital first releases, the month dates are from the issue covers, not the actual date when the comic went on sale.

January 2018 February 2018 March 2018 April 2018 May 2018 June 2018 July 2018 August 2018 September 2018 October 2018 November 2018 December 2018

Back to the Mild Mannered Reviews contents page.

Check out the Comic Index Lists for the complete list of Superman-related comics published in 2018.