August 1, 2021

Mild Mannered Reviews - Justice League Comics

Justice League #35 Justice League #35 KindleDownload iBookBuy Now

Justice League #35

Scheduled to arrive in stores: December 20, 2017

Cover date: February 2018

"The People vs Justice League" - Part 2

Writer: Christopher Priest
Penciller: Pete Woods
Inker: Pete Woods
Cover: Pete Woods
Variant Cover: Nick Bradshaw & Alex Sinclair

Reviewed by: Glen J. Clark
Click to enlarge



Because of the events in the last issue, Diana is answering questions about her involvement in El Dominigo, in particular how a nun died by her sword which is now in evidence. Back on the Watchtower, someone named Glenn Gammeron breaks into the Watchtower and after a brief battle with Jessica Cruz, he makes his intentions known, he is looking for John Jones, he needs help. It seems he lost an alien cockroach but not an ordinary one, but one that can duplicate and eat through anything. Flash and Kid Flash are running around the city, looking for this bug when they come across a swarm of them.

Back at the Watchtower, Superman asks Diana and Bruce if they should join the fight, when Diana questions why did she decide to come to the world of man, she wanted to bring Peace, Compassion, Joy, and Love, but all she has done is use her fists. Superman tells Diana plans change and Batman says she blames me and my plan but won't admit it.

With some pretty solid teamwork the team defeats the cockroach problem. And the main bug has been recaptured for transport. Things for the League seem to be looking up when breaking news video footage of the events in El Dominigo, the extremist grabbing Wonder Woman's sword and killing the nun. Within seconds the video goes viral.

Next Issue: The Revenge of the Social Network.

4Story - 4: First of all let me apologize for missing the most important scene in the last issue, of the death of the Nun by Wonder Woman's sword. Now onto this issue. If you gave up on Justice League during the first 33 issues, do yourself a favor and grab last issue #34 and this week's #35, Priest has breathed new life into the title. While the rogue bug took up the majority of the issue, it is the doubt that is going through the various members first Batman, and now Wonder Woman. In two issues, you can see that Priest is building a story of many layers. This is shaping up to be the Justice League many have wanted from the start of Rebirth.

4Art - 4: Same artist as last week, I mentioned that it was okay, but it has started to grow on me. While still not up to the standards of previous issues, I liked the art slightly better than last issue. Maybe it's growing on me, or maybe the story is so good it elevates the art.

3Cover Art - 3: Depicting what's in the issue on the cover is always a plus for me. I would still like a little more detail on our heroes, but the cover is good enough to get a passing grade.

4Variant Cover Art - 4: Stunning image of Batman and Wonder Woman, and while not directly a depiction of the action in this book, you can feel the tension between these two characters and that is backed up by Bruce beating himself up over his error in judgement last issue.

Mild Mannered Reviews

2018

Note: Except for digital first releases, the month dates are from the issue covers, not the actual date when the comic went on sale.

January 2018 February 2018 March 2018 April 2018 May 2018 June 2018 July 2018 August 2018 September 2018 October 2018 November 2018 December 2018

Back to the Mild Mannered Reviews contents page.

Check out the Comic Index Lists for the complete list of Superman-related comics published in 2018.