August 1, 2021

Mild Mannered Reviews - Action Comics

Action Comics #997 Action Comics #997 KindleDownload iBookBuy Now

Action Comics #997

Scheduled to arrive in stores: February 14, 2018

Cover date: April 2018

"Booster Shot" - Part 5

Writer: Dan Jurgens
Penciller: Brett Booth
Inker: Brett Booth
Cover: Brett Booth
Variant Cover: Kaare Andrews

Reviewed by: Mario Bennese
Click to enlarge



Superman and Booster Gold engage in a fight with Lor-Zod and the Eradicator. Booster is quickly taken out before Superman bests the son of Zod. Suddenly, an old and grey General Zod arrives and subdues the Man of Steel.

In Logamba, Lois makes her way towards her father's prison cell. Before she is attacked by a Logamban guard, Jon intervenes and saves his mother. The two find and free Sam Lane from his cell. Jon meets his grandfather for the first time.

Back on New Krypton, Superman and Booster Gold are chained up in the capital for a public execution. Zod announces to the people of New Krypton who Superman is and why he must perish. Skeets angers Zod and is destroyed. The House of Zod plans to utilize the heroes' time machine and travel to the past to murder Lois and Jon. Although protected by Booster's shield, the two heroes face impending doom as Zod, Lor-Zod, Ursa, and the Eradicator unleash a barrage of heat vision.

In the jungles of Logamba, Lois, Jon, and Sam continue their escape. The three are spotted and gunned down by Logamban soldiers.

4Story - 4: Although this was a relatively fast read, it was still enjoyable. There was plenty of action and plot progression to build intrigue. The sign of a good story - and especially when it comes to a serialized, long-lasting character like Superman - is being able to make the reader worry for the well-being of the characters. I know Superman, Lois, and Jon won't be killed off in this story. I've seen the solicitations for the coming months; I know they're going to get out of this mess. Nevertheless, I'm still concerned for them. That's good story telling.

3Art - 3: I'm not sure if I just didn't feel like seeing Booth's art this week or if his work was weak, but I really wish Booth hadn't done this issue. There are quite a number of panels that just look mediocre. I feel like someone like Zircher would have done better on this issue. Either way, there are still some panels that look great, though they mostly exist in the beginning battle.

2Cover Art - 2: Like I've said for many covers before this, I like the concept, but the execution is flawed. Superman and Booster look - for lack of a better word - bad.

5Variant Cover Art - 5: Now that's a Superman cover! The art is simply gorgeous and the image is absolutely iconic. I would love to own this image as a poster.

Mild Mannered Reviews

2018

Note: Except for digital first releases, the month dates are from the issue covers, not the actual date when the comic went on sale.

January 2018 February 2018 March 2018 April 2018 May 2018 June 2018 July 2018 August 2018 September 2018 October 2018 November 2018 December 2018

Back to the Mild Mannered Reviews contents page.

Check out the Comic Index Lists for the complete list of Superman-related comics published in 2018.