July 29, 2021

Mild Mannered Reviews - Justice League #32

Justice League #32 Justice League #32 KindleDownload iBookBuy Now

Justice League #32

Scheduled to arrive in stores: September 18, 2019

Cover date: November 2019

"Justice/Doom War" - Part Three

Writer: SCOTT SNYDER and JAMES TYNION IV
Penciller: HOWARD PORTER
Inker: HOWARD PORTER
Cover: FRANCIS MANAPUL
Variant Cover: OLIVIER COIPEL

Reviewed by: James Lantz
Click to enlarge


Heroes in the past and future alike must get their respective shards of the Totality before the Legion of Dooms can get its hands on them. The Justice Legion A has been freed from Brainiac's control, and Kamandi gets a much needed motivational speech from Wonder Woman. At the same time, Aquaman has arrived to help The Flash, Green Lantern and the Justice Society. Brainiac has upgraded to Brainiac One Million, and tides of battle have turned. The Anti-Monitor has joined his brothers the Monitor and the World Forger on the side of the Justice League. Can they hope to stop their mother Perpetua before she creates the multiverse in her own dark image?

5Story - 5: I admit I was a bit harsh on the previous issue. That's only because I expected so much from Snyder and Tynion. Granted, Tynion's solo arc wasn't as good as Snyder's work on the series, and the lack of Snyder's dynamics and storytelling are evident in it. Still, this series is worth reading in spite of a few misses here and there. This issue is clearly prepping character's and readers alike for what's to come, and it does that in a way that left me wanting more. I'm eager for the next chapter and what Scott Snyder and the rest of this book's team have in tore for us.

5Art - 5: Okay, Jorge Jimenez isn't drawing this one, which is a pity. However, it's great to see Howard Porter art. I felt nostalgic for his JLA after reading this issue.

4Cover Art - 4: The art itself is well done. The coloring, however, seems oddly off on Superman for some reason.

4Variant Cover Art - 4: Poor Supes isn't treated well in either cover this time around. This one has him looking more like a middle-aged insurance salesman than the Man of Steel, but that's just my view of it.

Mild Mannered Reviews

2019

Note: Except for digital first releases, the month dates are from the issue covers, not the actual date when the comic went on sale.

January 2019 February 2019 March 2019 April 2019 May 2019 June 2019 July 2019 August 2019 September 2019 October 2019 November 2019 December 2019

Back to the Mild Mannered Reviews contents page.

Check out the Comic Index Lists for the complete list of Superman-related comics published in 2019.