August 1, 2021
Buy Now!

Mild Mannered Reviews - Supergirl Comics

Supergirl and the Legion of Super-Heroes #36

Supergirl and the Legion of Super-Heroes #36

Scheduled to arrive in stores: November 28, 2007

Cover date: January 2008

Writer: Tony Bedard
Penciller: Dennis Calero
Inker: Dennis Calero

"The Quest for Cosmic Boy - Epilogue"

Reviewed by: Jeffrey Bridges

Click to enlarge



Saturn Girl, Supergirl and Lightning Lad battle Evolvo-lad to a standstill and find a portal inside his base. Supergirl looks through and finds it leads back to 21st century earth, and was built with the help of Brainiac 5.

Brainy never believed Cosmic Boy was there, only sent Supergirl and her team there in the hopes of tricking her into going back home to her own time, where she belongs. Kara doesn't want to leave yet, without saying goodbye to the others, but the portal will not remain open for long and if she is to return, she has to leave now.

And so leave she does, leaving Lightning Lad as Legion leader and her memories of her time with the Legion are wiped as she goes through the portal because knowledge of future history is dangerous.

Also, no one was ever really looking for Cosmic Boy because Dream Girl has been communicating with Brainy while he sleeps and told him that Cos would return just fine. The search teams were created merely to gain Tenzil Kem as an ally, to get Timber Wolf to release his feral side, and to get Supergirl back home.

3Story - 3: Well, after all this time, Kara finally makes it back home.

And it was a bit of a letdown.

I don't know what I was expecting... maybe something grandiose or epic or, at the very least, meaningful and full of character. What we got instead was "Brainy manipulated you, the Legion LEADER, into doing exactly what he wanted, and now it's time for you to go. Bye."

That kind of rubs me the wrong way. I know matching wits with Brainiac 5 is a losing battle for everyone, but it still made Kara come off a little like a chump, I think, and the fact that she didn't even get a proper goodbye with all of her teammates is upsetting.

As Kara is now back in her own time, she'll no longer be appearing in this title and so this fine website will no longer be reviewing it. So I'd just like to take a moment to thank all of you who've been reading these Legion reviews; hopefully you've found them helpful or at least entertaining.

Kara may be leaving on a down note, but as far as I'm concerned this was the most consistently well-written book I've read by all of DC in the time I've been reviewing it. It made a Legion fan out of me, which means it did its job.

4Art - 4: More of Calero's great work, although Brainy seems to have borrowed his hair from MC Hammer on a few panels on page 15, and the shot of Kara in the top panel on page 18, between the Legion and the Titans... I don't know what happened there, but her face looks like it got hit with some serious Joker venom. Very minor complaints, though, in what is otherwise very excellent art.

3Cover Art - 3: What's going on here? Dunno.

Only one character here is actually even in this issue, and she's doing nothing remotely like anything she does in the issue, either literally or figuratively.

And Cosmic Boy is on the cover even though he's been missing for this entire arc and no one has seen him anywhere.

In other words, pretty much your standard confusing Legion cover.


Mild Mannered Reviews

2008

Note: Month dates are from the issue covers, not the actual date when the comic went on sale.

January 2008

February 2008 March 2008 April 2008 May 2008 June 2008 July 2008 August 2008 September 2008 October 2008 November 2008 December 2008

Back to the Mild Mannered Reviews contents page.

Check out the Comic Index Lists for the complete list of Superman-related comics published in 2008.