July 29, 2021
Buy Now!

Mild Mannered Reviews - JSA Comics

Justice Society of America #4 Justice Society of America #4

Justice Society of America #4

Scheduled to arrive in stores: March 14, 2007

Cover date: May 2007

Writter: Geoff Johns
Penciller: Dale Eaglesham
Inker: Ruy Jose

"The Next Age: Chapter Four"

Neal Bailey Reviewed by: Neal Bailey

Click to enlarge



Wildcat's son attacks Vandal Savage, and Savage pulls a sword.

In Blue Valley, the first team arrives to save Stripesy and family.

In Philadelphia, the second team encounters the Fourth Reich. In the process, Damage detonates too close to Liberty on accident, and hurts her.

Savage and the two Wildcats fight Savage viciously. An explosion rocks them out from the apartment and into the streets.

One of the Fourth Reich rips off Damage's mask, revealing a horribly burned face. Apologetic, Liberty hands him his mask again after the nazi is subdued, and together they rejoin the fight.

Simultaneously, the fight comes to a head in all three locations. Wildcat the elder gives Wildcat the younger a few tips, then hurls Savage in front of a bus, knocking him cold as the JSA in separate teams dispatch the Fourth Reich.

Later, Wildcat offers to train his son, who explains he's been turning into a were-cat since before Kindergarten.

Power Girl accepts chairman position in Mr. Terrific's absence with Checkmate.

Nathan Heywood, meanwhile, now has a new leg made from solid metal.

Mr. America's contact, the policeman, has been fired because of his leaking of information. Resolved, he adopts the Mr. America disguise.

Wildcat introduces his son to the JSA.

In Gotham City, a woman in chains begs for Star Boy as Dr. Destiny stands above her, enjoying her nightmares.

5Story - 5: I'm a little disappointed with the lack of an explanation for Wildcat's son's powers. It's very pat, the way that he just had powers that are near the costume of his father's, but the characterization more than makes up for it.

Mr. America's return is awesome as well, and very apt given the story. One of the best part of Geoff's talent is that he takes a character that wouldn't mean much without good writing, adds a character angle, and makes you care about them. Mr. America is a good example, Heywood as well. At times it leads to an almost convoluted, near over-use of caption, making you read slowly, but as I've always thought, slowing a reader down and making that reader pay closer attention to the fact that you ARE doing great work, especially in such an instant gratification field as comics, is truly worthwhile, especially if the work goes well.

The Fourth Reich gives in and runs away easily, as does Savage. I expected a bit more there, but in the end, then again, the one-two-three punch again lifts you from that worry into an elation at the sheer joy of this team.

Positive, family team books tend to be hokey. Johns has helped redefine them in just this fashion with this book, in that you feel like you're a part of this family.

Power Girl as a leader completes the evolution started years ago, bringing her from B character to the solid fray. I love it.

All in all, I want more of this storyline, actually, I expected two more issues, but I'm really excited to see what the crossover has in store. Hands-down, a great read.

5Art - 5: Eaglesham is at his best when you have insane, broad action scenes. I've said that from the first time I saw his work. This comic uses that talent incredibly, from the explosive Savage fight to the Fourth Reich. Each page bursts with characters, and all in all, I think Eaglesham is fast becoming one of my favorite artists when used in proper capacity. It's like using Jim Lee on For Tomorrow, you can't let a guy who does great action do talkies, and when I see Eaglesham on great, broad, multi-character action scenes like this, it jazzes me up and pleases me.

5Cover Art - 5: The character covers, as I've said, walk that line of being done to death now... but Alex Ross keeps outdoing himself. I mean, just look at the regular cover and the character that pops from it. Awesome!


Mild Mannered Reviews

2007

Note: Month dates are from the issue covers, not the actual date when the comic went on sale.

January 2007

February 2007 March 2007 April 2007 May 2007 June 2007 July 2007 August 2007 September 2007 October 2007 November 2007 December 2007

Back to the Mild Mannered Reviews contents page.

Check out the Comic Index Lists for the complete list of Superman-related comics published in 2007.