Virtual 2020 Superman Celebration

Due to COVID-19, the annual Superman Celebration in Metropolis, Illinois was cancelled for 2020, but fans have rallied together to put on a Virtual 2020 Superman Celebration as a way to gather online and celebrate the Man of Steel while also supporting the city of Metropolis. Events will take place via the Zoom video conferencing app throughout the weekend.

Note: This event has no official affiliation with the city of Metropolis, the Superman Celebration, or any other official entity.

2020 Virtual Superman Celebration Schedule:
(All times noted in EST/ CST/ MST and PST)

FRIDAY – JUNE 12

6:00 PM (EST) 5:00 PM (CST) 4:00 PM (MST) 3:00 PM (PST)

OPENING CEREMONIES

8:00 PM (EST) 7:00 PM (CST) 6:00 PM (MST) 5:00 PM (PST)

KARAOKE WITH RAY MARTINEZ AND JUSTIN OLINGHOUSE

SATURDAY – JUNE 13

11:00 AM (EST) 10:00 AM (CST) 9:00 AM (MST) 8:00 AM (PST)

TODD AARON PANEL

12:00 PM (EST) 11: 00 AM (CST) 10:00 AM (MST) 9:00 AM (PST)

TALKING WITH THE SUPER SON: HENDRIE WEISINGER Q&A: In the Silver Age of Comics, Superman reigned supreme on the comic book rack. Under the editorship of Mort Weisinger, the Superman mythos exploded as his writers added Supergirl, the Legion of Super-Heroes, Brainiac, the Bizarro World and numerous legendary Imaginary Stories that stand as some of the best superhero tales ever created. Join us as we talk to Mort’s son, Hendrie, about his dad, his career and his lasting impact on Superman. Dan Johnson (moderator)

1:00 PM (EST) 12:00 PM (CST) 11: 00 AM (MST) 10:00 AM (PST)

YOU CAN CALL HIM CHIEF!: MICHAEL EURY Q&A SESSION: Michael Eury is a comics editor and writer as well as one of the medium’s leading historians. Besides having worked for DC Comics, Dark Horse Comics and Comico, he is also the editor of Back Issue! and RetroFan for TwoMorrows and he is an advisor for The Overstreet Comic Book Price Guide. Join us as we discuss Michael’s work that includes The Krypton Companion and Back Issue! #109, which was devoted entirely to celebrating the 40th anniversary of Superman: The Movie. Brian K. Morris (moderator)

2:00 PM (EST) 1:00 PM (CST) 12:00 PM (MST) 11: 00 AM (PST)

WHY CAN’T WE BE (SUPER) FRIENDS?: A SPECIAL FAN PANEL: There was a time they were the World’s Finest! The Man of Steel and the Caped Crusader! Superman and Batman! A force for good to be reckoned with! Partners in crimefighting! Best friends! And then Frank Miller’s The Dark Knight Returns came along and shattered that friendship. Today modern fans feel there is no seeing eye to eye with these two heroes and in the real world, they could never be friends. But this isn’t the real world, kids! This is comics! Join us as the Pro Super Friends take on the Con Super Friends to decide once and for all if Clark and Bruce can get along! Panelists- Michal Eury, Dan Johnson (moderator), Elliot S! Maggin, Brian K. Morris

3:00 PM (EST) 2:00 PM (EST) 1:00 PM (MST) 12:00 PM (PST)

BEING SUPERMAN: An interview with Kevin Caliber. Panelists Kevin Caliber Sassy-Ann Shenefield (moderator)

4:00 PM (EST) 3:00 PM (CST) 2:00 PM (MST) 1:00 PM (PST)

SUPERHERO FAN MAKES GOOD!: JEFFREY BRESLAUER Q&A: Jeffrey Breslauer is an actor who has a knack for showing up in superhero projects. He has worked on episodes of Swamp Thing and Superboy, had an uncredited part in Thomas Jane’s Punisher movie and he is the official voice of the Joker for all the Six Flags Parks! Part of the reason Jeffrey gets these roles is because he is a super actor and also a super fan! Join us as we discuss his career and his passion for superheroes! Dan Johnson (moderator)

5:00 PM (EST) 4:00 PM (CST) 3:00 PM (MST) 2:00 PM (PST)

CHARLEE’S SUPER HAIR TUTORIAL: Charlee will be hosting a watch party of his hair tutorial with room for follow-up questions

6:00 PM (EST) 5:00 PM (CST) 4:00 PM (MST) 3:00 PM (PST)

SUPERMAN TRIVIA: How well do you know the Man of Steel and his Super Friends? Test your knowledge as one of our contestants! Dan Johnson hosting

7:00 PM (EST) 6:00 PM (CST) 5:00 PM (MST) 4:00 PM (PST)

GROWING UP WITH SUPERMAN: AARON SMOLINKSI Q&A: Aaron Smolinski has been a part of the Superman Legacy since he was cast as Young Clark in 1978’s Superman: The Movie at the age of three. After playing the orphan from space who would grow up to become the Man of Steel, Aaron was later cast in small roles in Superman III (he is the youngster standing at the photo booth where Christopher Reeve’s Clark Kent goes to change into Superman at the beginning of the movie) and Man of Steel (he is one of the American soldiers that encounters Henry Cavill’s Superman). Join us as he recounts his time working on the movie that defined the modern superhero epic and its follow-up films. Dan Johnson (moderator)

8:00 PM (EST) 7:00 PM (CST) 6:00 PM (MST) 5:00 PM (PST)

JAMIE KELLEY CONCERT (HOSTED ON HIS FACEBOOK PAGE)

SUNDAY – JUNE 14

12:00 PM (EST) 11: 00 AM (CST) 10:00 AM (MST) 9:00 AM (PST)

SUPERMAN RADIO SHOW RETROSPECTIVE: Join us as our Super Fans discuss recreating exciting episodes from the Superman Radio Series!

1:00 PM (EST) 12:00 PM (CST) 11: 00 AM (MST) 10:00 AM (PST)

KIDS’S COSTUME SHOWCASE: Anyone who would like to participate can spend 30 seconds talking about/showing off their costume-the construction, why they chose that character, etc. (hosted by Kelly & Kevin Williams/Muley)

2:00 PM (EST) 1:00 PM (CST) 12:00 PM (MST) 11: 00 AM (PST)

ADULT COSTUME SHOWCASE: Anyone who would like to participate can spend 30 seconds talking about/showing off their costume-the construction, why they chose that character, etc. (hosted by Kelly & Kevin Williams/Muley)

3:00 PM (EST) 2:00 PM (EST) 1:00 PM (MST) 12:00 PM (PST)

WADES WORLD: Q&A Session with Martheus, Janet, & Anakin Wade, creators of the Toshigawa Universe

4:00 PM (EST) 3:00 PM (CST) 2:00 PM (EST) 1:00 PM (MST)

THE ‘S’ STANDS FOR SUPER!: ELLIOT S! MAGGIN Q&A SESSION: Elliot S! Maggin is a writer who has written journalism, novels, television shows and films. Elliot is also a recipient of the Bill Finger Award for Excellence in Comic Book Writing and he was one of the primary writers for Superman during the Bronze Age of Comics. In addition, Elliot’s first two novels were Last Son of Krypton and Miracle Monday and each featured the Man of Steel. He also wrote the novelization of the popular Kingdom Come comic book mini-series. Join us as we discuss Elliot’s career in comics, his association with Superman and his career that spans over forty years. Kenny Richardson (moderator)

5:00 PM (EST) 4:00 PM (EST) 3:00 PM (CST) 2:00 PM (EST)

WHY WE NEED SUPERMAN NOW: A SPECIAL FAN PANEL: “Even in the darkest times, hope cuts through. Hope is the light that lifts us out of darkness.” This quote from Brandon Routh’s Superman defines what makes the Man of Steel special to so many of his fans. He is a fictional character, but the ideals he stands for like hope and truth and justice are the things everyone is looking for in today’s crazy, mixed-up world. Our panel of fans will discuss what makes Superman special to them and why they believe the world needs the Man of Steel more than ever. Panelists- Jeffrey Breslauer, Dan Johnson (moderator), Kelly Guentner and Brian K. Morris

MONDAY – JUNE 15

9:00 AM (EST) 8:00 AM (EST) 7:00 (MST) 6:00 (PST)

BOO HOO BREAKFAST – hosted by Brandon Wheatley

Tell your friends
  • 193
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 1
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 2
  •  
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
afriend
June 11, 2020 4:41 pm

Depending on how the summer goes, I’m kicking around a trip to Metropolis in September for my birthday; it’s not 50, but it’s not 21 either : I