Adi Shankar Joins “Superman vs. the Ku Klux Klan” as Producer

According to ComicBook.com, Adi Shankar, the producer behind “Castlevania” and the upcoming “Devil May Cry” Netflix animated series, has come on board as producer for the film “Superman vs. the Ku Klux Klan”.

“Superheroes operate outside the scope of law and offer us hope that someone will rise up and protect us when government and other institutions cannot or will not. This story shows the power of the superhero mythology and it’s tangible impact on the physical world,” Shankar said in a statement.

Marc Rosen, a collaborator on the project, said this: “Adi Shankar has long been inspired to fight for just causes; he has successfully taken on the status quo and broken barriers long seen as insurmountable. This story highlights the power of the people against the alarming resurgence of some the darkest chapters of our country’s past. It is as historical as it is timely, as the nation is once again facing challenges to the principles of truth, justice and ‘The American Way.”

In 2012 author and historian Rick Bowers published a book titled “Superman versus the Ku Klux Klan”, which tells a group of intertwining stories that culminate in the historic 1947 collision of the Superman Radio Show and the Ku Klux Klan.

That book is being adapted for the screen by Katherine Lindberg, to be produced by Lotus Entertainment and Paperchase Films. The movie will chronicle a former Klan member who goes undercover in 1946 Atlanta and works with the Anti-Defamation League and the producer of the Superman radio show. “Fighting the forces of evil with brain over brawn, artists taking down bullies and the power of a good piece of content, it’s a real case of truth being cooler than fiction,” said producer Marc Rosen. “We’re excited to develop the thriller elements of the film in the vein of The Departed and Mississippi Burning.”

The 160 page hardcover book published by National Geographic Children’s Books is available to purchase from Amazon.com.

We’ll bring you further details on this developing film as it comes to hand.

Tell your friends
  • 58
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 11
  • 1
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 3
  •  

8
Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
5 Comment threads
3 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
Kal-ElvisNeoRangerredcapeGodzillaofSteelBMoore25 Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
Notify of
Spidey2878
Member
Spidey2878

I look forward to seeing it. I wonder when they will release it.

BMoore25
Member

I wonder also, this is the number 1 thing I mention when I state why I’m a Superman fan, he help beat the KKK, I hope this comes out relatively soon, cause I can’t wait

Spidey2878
Member
Spidey2878

Well said.

GodzillaofSteel
Member
GodzillaofSteel

I’m curious if this will be a documentary-styled movie or if they’ll make it into an animated version of the story.

Spidey2878
Member
Spidey2878

Happy Friday. Thumbs up

redcape
Member
redcape

Sorry…but as far as I’m concerned this story is WAY out if line for where we should be with the portrayal of Superman at this time.

Kal-Elvis
Member

It’s a part of history in general as well as Superman’s history – it both shows what Superman stands for and against, and that Superman isn’t just an “upholder of the status quo” as so many non-fans try to charge the character with (because they’ve forgotten/don’t know about things like this). It’s exactly in line for what’s needed right now.

NeoRanger
Member
NeoRanger

I quite like the idea, but I’d also like to see the serial adapted. Period pieces are fun, especially for characters with a history this long.