Buy NowDownload

Mild Mannered Reviews - DC Universe

DC Universe Online Legends #26

DC Universe Online Legends #26

Scheduled to arrive in stores: March 21, 2012

Cover date: Late May 2012

"End of a Hero"

Writer: Marv Wolfman
Penciller: Howard Porter
Inker: Livesay

Jeffrey Taylor Reviewed by: Jeffrey Taylor

Click to enlarge

Present Lex Luthor fights off Brainiac's robots in the Fortress of Solitude while Future Lex and Future Batman prepare to use the power of the many Green Lantern rings to alter the timeline and hopefully stop Brainiac before he can do the damage he has already wrought.

Brainiac prepares to use his exobytes to put a stop to the "metahuman factor" and eliminate his competition on Earth once and for all. At the same time, the future versions of Lex and Batman come to terms with the idea that they are, for the first time, on the same team. Brainiac finally discovers that Lex is in the Fortress of Solitude, but Superman arrives to slow him down, giving Luthor the opportunity to confront Brainiac.

If both the future and the present Luthor touch, it will create a paradox sending them both back to each other's times? It's like TimeCop, only not. Present Lex comes to regret everything he had done before that he will now forget and have to go back to being an evil jerk.

For pretty much no reason, Batman jumps in the way to slow down Brainiac long enough for the two Lex's to touch.

They do. Time goes back to a year ago.

Luthor from a year ago is looking forward to killing Superman.

Batman from a year ago gets a computer message from the future Batman telling him what is going to happen with Brainiac and how to stop him. The Batman from a year ago has a hard time trusting him, but decides to go ahead and do it anyway.

The end?

1Story - 1: We've had our share of weak issues leading up to this finale, but if there was an award for weak opening pages, this would win the jackpot. Not only that, but the entire issue is stretched out from what could have been 10-12 page so that it can all fit into the final issue, and it can be felt in the reading, which makes it even worse.

I really wanted at least the ending of this story to tie into the context of the game, but it didn't.

So if you never paid any attention to the game, this whole story never had any meaning to begin with. It was just a weird story that meandered and never affected the current continuity.

If you played the game, the story still had no meaning or affect on the game. The future Lex coming to the past to warn Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman which set the game story in motion... still didn't matter because according to the book, future Batman told past Batman all about it...

I'm officially tired and happy that this is all over.

I really wanted to enjoy this. Heck, I really wanted to enjoy the whole series. There have been a fair share of ups with the many downs, but this issue exemplifies all that was wrong since the second arc.

I completely gave this the benefit of the doubt from the get-go, but once things started to go downhill, it turned into an avalanche.

1Art - 1: I've gone on and on about how I don't care for this art team. I'm not going to beat a dead horse. I didn't care for it.

2Cover Art - 2: I would have preferred the previous cover to this one. I'm being generous with a "2" only because it's not the worst of the series. At least Superman's on it ... kay bye.

Mild Mannered Reviews


Note: Month dates are from the issue covers, not the actual date when the comic went on sale.

January 2012

February 2012 March 2012 April 2012 May 2012 June 2012 July 2012 August 2012 September 2012 October 2012 November 2012 December 2012

Back to the Mild Mannered Reviews contents page.

Check out the Comic Index Lists for the complete list of Superman-related comics published in 2012.